5 March 2022 | General

Bowe sweeps Saturday in Sydney

JOHN BOWE has swept both races on Saturday at Sydney Motorsport Park to claim an early advantage in his quest for a seventh Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters championship. 

Starting from the outside of the front row, Bowe dropped back to fourth initially however a typically patient and measured drive saw him pick off key rivals in Steven Johnson, Ryan Hansford and George Miedecke to take his 102nd TCM win – having earlier claimed his 101st in the Trophy Race.

RESULTS: 2022 race 1

Hansford led the race from pole however it was an aggressive Steven Johnson who made the biggest move; sweeping around the outside of the first corner to challenge for the lead.

Johnson would remain second for just one lap: Miedecke and Bowe both slipping past on lap two.

The duo set out in pursuit of the leader with all three drivers lapping beneath the existing Sydney lap record on lap three – Bowe ultimately setting the new benchmark.

The trip battled for the lead for the next five laps, Miedecke ultimately relegating Hansford to second position on the seventh lap.

Bowe followed a lap later, before subsequently passing the Whiteline Camaro on lap eight to take a race lead he would never lose.

Miedecke followed the Torana home with Hansford completing the podium.

Johnson was fourth, Cameron Tilley fending off Marcus Zukanovic for much of the race to grab fifth.

Jamie Tilley, Cameron Mason, Andrew Fisher and Mark King completed the top-10 in an entertaining race.

An earlier incident saw Jim Pollicina and Cameron Mason trade paint on the opening lap on the exit of the turn eight hairpin, the former spinning across the road as the field took evasive action.

SNB Berryman Racing’s Warren Trewin unfortunately failed to finish in his first TCM Championship race start, having earlier battled overheating issues in his HQ Monaro in the Trophy Race.