2 December 2021 | General

Johnson wins again as title swings towards Bowe

From pole position, Steve Johnson was unchallenged in taking out race two of the Gulf Western Oils Touring Car Masters series at Mt Panorama.

However the battle for the TCM title swung heavily in the favour of John Bowe as drama potentially cost Ryan Hansford a shot at the championship.


Behind the tribute Tru-Blue Full Throttle Custom Garages Ford Falcon XD, the action was on with Adam Bressington (Whiteline Racing Chev Camaro) second initially before he was passed by Ryan Hansford (Multispares Holden Torana A9X).

Hansford stalked the race leader until he slowed on Mountain Straight, the Multispares Torana limping to the Cutting before stopping. 

In the meantime, John Bowe (Paynter Dixon Torana) who started conservatively and dropped to fifth in the early stages. He methodically worked his way forward and ultimately finished second.

With Bowe second, Johnson first and Hansford out, the complexion of the tense TCM title battle changed completely.

Bowe now leads Hansford by 34 points with Steven Johnson 48 points from the lead and still in contention, with 60 points up for grabs.

Johnson’s victory was also the 199th for the Blue Oval in TCM competition.

It was tight for third between Bressington, Cam Mason (Ford Mustang) and Dean Lillie (Torana) with a gap to George Miedecke (Camaro) placed sixth after he started at the rear.

Next was Jamie Tilley (Mustang) who won his race-long dice with Jim Pollicina (Torana).

Behind that duo was Tony Karanfilovski (Mustang), clear of Danny Buzadzic (Torana), Peter Burnitt (Torana), Sven Burchartz (Porsche 911) and Brad Tilley (Ford Falcon XY GT).

Behind the leaders, Marcus Zukanovic was on a charge from the back – He progressed to seventh before his Falcon XD suffered another right front tyre blowout forcing him out of the race. 

Cameron Tilley was also a non-finisher, when his Valiant Pacer expired on the third lap and left him parked at the top of the Mountain. 

One race remains in the 2021 Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters Series, to commence at 8:20am tomorrow morning.

The race will be shown live on Fox Sports and Kayo.