23 November 2021 | General

Strong field set for TCM Bathurst title fight

THE GRID for the Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters title fight is set, 20 thundering muscle and sports cars from the 1960s, 70s and 80s set to tackle the Mountain at the Bathurst 1000 next week.

As well as the five drivers in realistic contention for the TCM title, the Mount Panorama grid is the most competitive in some time, with a host of former and potential new winners set to join the four-race program.

While TCM racing at Bathurst is always highly competitive, the highlight is set to be the battle between the key title protagonists for the outright championship trophy.

Five-time TCM Champion John Bowe leads the title race by just 10 points ahead of Ryan Hansford.

The Queenslander is 37 points ahead of Marcus Zukanovic (Falcon XD) and Cameron Tilley (Valliant Pacer), who are tied for equal third in the championship on 398 points.

Reigning and three-time TCM Champion Steven Johnson’s quest for a fourth crown will start from fifth place, the Queensland XD Falcon driver entering the final round 58 behind long-time friend and rival, Bowe.

The championship will be decided over four races, including the mixed-grid TCM Trophy race and then three championship races. 200 points remain up for grabs across the week, with 10 drivers mathematically remaining in contention to lift the crown.

Outside of the key title contenders, the Bathurst TCM Bathurst grid includes a host of potential race winners.

Whiteline Racing will welcome George Miedecke to the series for the first time; the second-generation driver to drive the same 1969 Camaro that his Dad, Andrew, drove in the category for the successful Adelaide-based team.

He’ll line up alongside the always-racy Adam Bressington, who will switch to the team’s 1970 Camaro RS for the Bathurst event.

Touring Car Masters Race winner Dean Lillie returns aboard a Holden Torana, as will a pair of Porsche 911 RS entries to be fielded by Terry Lawler and Sven Burchartz.

TCM legend Brad Tilley makes his first start since the 2018 season aboard his wildly popular Ford Falcon GTHO, and will compete head to head with son, Jamie, and his Ford Mustang.

The entry list includes Queenslanders Hansford, Johnson and Lighthouse Hotel Holden Torana driver Peter Burnitt, who will each travel from the Sunshine state to compete despite the current border restrictions.

The Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters grid will tackle a four-race program across the massive Bathurst event, commencing on Tuesday, November 30.

Every race will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo Sports, with additional coverage on the Seven Network throughout the event.

Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters – Round 4 of 4.

3 Pro Am Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic VIC Holden Torana A9X Hatch
6 Pro Am Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford QLD Holden Torana A9X
7 Pro Masters MoCOMM Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina NSW Holden Torana A9X Hatch
8 IROC Bedrug/Shell Terry Lawlor NSW Porsche 911 IROC
9 Pro Am Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW Ford Falcon XY GT HO
12 Pro Sport Lighthouse Hotel Peter Burnitt QLD Holden Torana A9X
15 Pro Am Reach Rock Art / Ravage Raceworks Dean Lillie VIC Holden Torana A9X Sedan
17 Pro Masters Full Throttle Custom Garage / Kubota Steven Johnson QLD Ford XD Falcon
18 Pro Masters PAYNTER DIXON / Payce John Bowe VIC Holden Torana SL/R 5000
28 Pro Am BedRug / Brad Tilley Auto Garage Brad Tilley NSW Ford Falcon XY GT HO
29 Pro Am Bedrug / Gulf Oil Australia Jamie Tilley NSW Ford Mustang Coupe
33 Pro Am Lake Macquarie Sheetmetal Cameron Mason NSW Ford Mustang Trans Am
50 Pro Am Motorsport Parts Australia Gerard McLeod VIC Holden VB Commodore
60 Pro Am Anglomoil Superior Lubricants Cameron Tilley NSW Valiant Pacer
67 Pro Am Bilstein/JMG Racing Jeremy Gray NSW Ford Capri Perana
71 Pro Masters Action Motor Industries Marcus Zukanovic VIC Ford Falcon XD
85 Pro Masters Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTI Insurance Adam Bressington NSW Chevrolet Camaro RS
88 Pro Am TIFS Third Party Logistics Tony Karanfilovski NSW Ford Mustang Trans Am
90 IROC Kalus Kenny Intelex Lawyers-Advisors Sven Burchartz VIC Porsche 911 IROC
95 Pro Masters Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTI Insurance George Miedecke NSW Chevrolet Camaro SS