NEXT STOP: Winton Raceway

2020 Round 2, VIC, June 5-7



Feb 22, 2020

STUCK IN THE SAND on Friday, Ryan Hansford has rebounded masterfully to win his second Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters race on Saturday at the Adelaide 500.

Starting 14th, the Multispares Torana was this time able to dodge lap one dramas in today’s second championship race of the season before scything his way through the field towards the front.

Having made up eight places on the opening lap, Hansford had only four racing laps to make up more spots following a Safety Car early in the race.

He restarted sixth on lap five and instantly passed three cars, before moving to second on the sixth lap thanks to a move on Jason Gomersall.

He then set about reeling in early leader Adam Bressington, who had led for the duration in his Whiteline Racing Camaro.

Hauling in a more than one-second margin, Hansford caught Bressington on the penultimate lap with the pair embarking on a lap-long fight for the lead – often running side-by-side.

Bressington covered his line in the braking zone at the turn nine hairpin however the invitation to go around the outside was too much for Hansford to resist: The Torana sailing the long way around to grab the lead with three corners to go.

It was Hansford’s second Touring Car Masters race victory, his first coming on the streets of Townsville two years ago.

Bressington backed up his race one victory with second and leads the round points with one race remaining.

Cameron Tilley improved one place to finish third following a spirited battle for the final step of the podium with a closely-matched group of cars behind.

Like Hansford, Adam Garwood started from the back but was another to carve his way through the field following his race one disappointment – he finished fourth.

Steven Johnson was fifth as his Team Johnson XD Falcon continues to improve, while John Bowe went from last to sixth in his Torana.

Jim Pollicina ran third early in the race but found himself on the wrong side of several battles, slipping to seventh at the flag.

Markus Zukanovic – who replaced a gearbox overnight in his XD Falcon – was next with Cameron Mason and Dean Lillie completing the top-10.

The race was soured on the opening lap with an unfortunate incident involving two Camaro’s at turn seven.

With the circuit slippery and dusty from an earlier oil spil, the cars struggled for grip in the opening laps and it caused early drama.

A slide from Paul Freestone saw his car fire across the road on the exit of the corner, Ryal Harris’ an innocent victim as he was tagged.

The cars each hit concrete barriers on either side of the circuit with each suffering significant damage; both drivers clambered from their cars unaided, though Harris was limping following the incident.

The race was run behind the Safety Car for several laps before restarting, completing nine of the scheduled 10 laps thanks to a speedy recovery by local officials.

The final race of the weekend will see the first of seven Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters series rounds decided on Sunday at the Superloop Adelaide 500. 




Pos Car Competitor/Team Driver Vehicle Cap
1 6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford (QLD) Holden Torana A9X 5000
2 95 Whiteline Racing/VDC Adam Bressington (NSW) Chevrolet Camaro SS 5800
3 60 ANGLOMOIL Lubricants/Tim Mille Cameron Tilley (NSW) Valiant Pacer 4390
4 85 Whiteline Racing/Giraffe Civ Adam Garwood (TAS) Chevrolet Camaro RS 5800
5 17 Kubota/Full Throttle Custom Steve Johnson (QLD) Ford Falcon XD 5800
6 18 PAYNTER DIXON John Bowe (VIC) Holden Torana SLR 5000
7 7 MOCOMM Motorsport Communicatio Jim Pollicina (NSW) Holden Torana A9X 5000
8 71 Centec Security Industries Markus Zukanovic (VIC) Ford Falcon XD 5800
9 33 Juice Plus Cameron Mason (NSW) Ford Mustang TransAm 5800
10 15 R&J Batteries Dean Lillie (VIC) Holden Torana A9X 5000
11 9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford Falcon XY GT 5800
12 67 Bilstein/JMG Racing Jeremy Gray (NSW) Ford Capri Perana 5000
13 12 The Lighthouse Hotel-Burnett Peter Burnitt (QLD) Holden Torana A9X 6000
14 35 Matt Stone Racing Jason Gomersall (QLD) Holden Torana A9X 5000
15 46 Hillier Brothers/THD Motorspor Leo Tobin (VIC) Ford Boss Mustang 5000
16 75 Oknalux Windows Layton Barker (TAS) Ford Falcon XW GT 5800
17 50 VC Privateer Gerard McLeod (VIC) Holden Commodore VB 5800
DNF 25 Vawdrey Trailers Paul Freestone (VIC) Chevrolet Camaro 5800
DNF 58 EFS 4X4 Accessories Ryal Harris (QLD) Chevrolet Camaro SS 5800
Home About About TCM TCM History Technical Info TCM ENGINE SAY NO CAMPAIGN BURSON LADIES CUP News Videos Season 2020 Teams & Drivers 1. ADELAIDE TBC. SYDNEY MOTORSPORT PARK 2. WINTON 4. MORGAN PARK 5. PHILLIP ISLAND 6. BATHURST 7 - BATHURST INTERNATIONAL Standings 2020 Standings 2019 Standings 2018 Standings 2017 Standings 2016 Standings 2015 Standings 2014 Standings 2013 Standings 2012 Standings 2011 Standings 2010 Standings 2009 Standings 2008 Standings 2007 Standings Sponsors Gallery Social Media Contact