Phillip Island

2019 Round 2, Phillip Island, Victoria April 12-14



Apr 6, 2018

JOHN BOWE and Steven Johnson have battled out one of the all-time great Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters qualifying sessions today at Symmons Plains Raceway in Tasmania.

Bowe ultimately prevailed in a compelling session that saw the drivers swap the top spot on several occasions before the Holden Torana prevailed with a last-gasp flyer with less than one minute to go in the session.

Bowe was the first of the pair to set an early benchmark, forcing Johnson to run a second time in his WM Waste Ford Mustang in a bid to challenge for pole.

That result worked; Johnson jumping to the top with his final flyer of 56.1961s, at the time just 0.01s quicker than Bowe.

It then took a mighty final effort from Bowe to top the Mustang, his 56.1266s best coming with 15 seconds to go in the session and just enough to usurp Johnson by 0.06s.

It was the first pole for Holden at Symmons Plains, though Bowe’s third from five attempts at the venue.

Ryan Hansford will start the first championship race of the weekend from third, an impressive result for the Multispares Racing driver given he missed the entirety of the practice session when a steering arm broke on his first lap out of pit lane.

With repairs effected, the Queenslander topped the charts for the middle stanza of qualifying before Johnson and Bowe went to work late in the piece in their battle for what would ultimately be pole position.

Hansford’s best of 56.5858s was only fractionally behind the previous qualifying record at Symmons Plains.

Mark King was an outstanding fourth in the Whiteline Racing / King Springs 1970 Chevrolet Camaro, his best qualifying result in some time.

It was a competitive showing from the Whiteline duo as King’s teammate Adam Bressington was fifth, just 0.1 seconds behind his Chevrolet stablemate.

Double Symmons Plains winner Gavin Bullas qualified sixth, though was only able to complete four laps of the session before his Carne Grill / Precinct Bar supported Mustang broke and was forced to pull to the side on the run into the final corner with a blown engine.

In a traditional tight Tassie session, the top six drivers were split by just one second.

Just behind them was Paul Freestone, who placed his Camaro seventh, and Cameron Tilley in eighth.

Tilley has picked up support from local business BRM Transport Refrigeration to support their local charge and was within 1.5 seconds of Bowe’s record pole lap despite having six-cylinder power on such a V8-friendly circuit.

Jason Gomersall and Leo Tobin were next, 0.01 and 0.15s behind Tilley, respectively.

Andrew Fisher qualified his rebuilt Falcon GTHO eleventh, though missed the latter stages of the session with header problems.

Jim Pollicina and local Leon Bell completed the thirteen.

Racing commences tomorrow morning at 11:45am with the traditional TCM Trophy race, with race four of the championship following at 2:55pm. Both will be live on FOX Sports 506.


Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle              Cap   CL   Laps   Fastest...Lap        Gap

1    18  Wilson Security / PAYCE        John Bowe                Holden Torana SL/R 5 5000         14    14 0:56.1266R 
2    17  WM Waste / Herrod Performance  Steve Johnson            Ford Mustang Fastbac 5800          8     8 0:56.1961r 0:00.0695
3     6  Multispares Racing             Ryan Hansford            Holden Torana SL/R 5 5000         10     7 0:56.5858  0:00.4592
4    85  Whiteline Racing / King Spring Mark King                Chevrolet Camaro RS  5800         14     9 0:56.8376  0:00.7110
5    95  Whiteline Racing / Fabre Austr Adam Bressington         Chevrolet Camaro SS  5800         12     6 0:56.9422  0:00.8156
6    16  Carne Grill / Precinct Bar     Gavin Bullas             Ford Mustang Fastbac 5800          4     3 0:57.1917  0:01.0651
7    25  Maxi-Trans Trailers            Paul Freestone           Chevrolet Camaro     5800         16     6 0:57.2896  0:01.1630
8    60  Glennan Transport / ANGLOMOIL  Cameron Tilley           Valiant Pacer        4390         17    12 0:57.5277  0:01.4011
9    35  Bigmate Racing                 Jason Gomersall          Holden Torana A9X Ha 5000         14     4 0:57.5334  0:01.4068
10   46  THD Motorsport                 Leo Tobin                Ford Boss Mustang    5000         15    13 0:57.5788  0:01.4522
11    9  Jesus Racing                   Andrew Fisher            Ford Falcon XY GT HO 5800          7     7 0:57.7041  0:01.5775
12   27  MOCOMM Motorsport Communicatio Jim Policina             Holden Torana A9X    5000         16    13 0:58.5497  0:02.4231
13   38  Leon Bell Automotive / Port So Leon Bell                Holden Monaro GTS Co 5800          6     5 1:01.8531  0:05.7265


Home About About TCM TCM History Technical Info TCM ENGINE SAY NO CAMPAIGN BURSON LADIES CUP News Season 2019 Teams & Drivers Schedule 1. ADELAIDE 2. PHILLIP ISLAND 3. WINTON 4. IPSWICH 5. SYDNEY 6. BATHURST 7. SANDOWN Standings 2019 Standings 2018 Standings 2017 Standings 2016 Standings 2015 Standings 2014 Standings 2013 Standings 2012 Standings 2011 Standings 2010 Standings 2009 Standings 2008 Standings 2007 Standings Sponsors Gallery Social Media Contact